Michigan Winter is Back

Hello!

Michigan is back!! Snow, wind chill, and all! I got a brain freeze on Thursday because we were in the middle of nowhere teaching this girl on her doorstep with the wind hitting my head really hard. And yes, I was wearing a hat. It hurt. But it was fun!! I love the snow 🙂 I love tracting in the snow!:)

So miracle of the week: The day I got the flu, Sister Weight met this guy (Dan) in our apartment parking lot who said he wanted to study Mormonism. He just got out of a 17 year relationship and wants to make changes in his life. So she set up an appointment for the next day. He lives right above us to the left, so it’s pretty convenient. Our first appointment with him was pretty good. We couldn’t get a member to come with us so we had to sit outside in the cold. We got through the whole Restoration with him though and he agreed with everything. Except that he thinks the King James version of the bible is a joke; but he’ll get over that. He only says “Our Father” when he prays and he only goes to church when God tells him to go (which apparently isn’t every Sunday?). So we went back to teach him a few days later and we had another woman with us, so we could go inside. He only had about 30 minutes to talk. He told us that he just got laid off of work and is most likely going to lose his apartment soon. The cool thing is that he read the first 3 chapters of the Book of Mormon and they totally applied to him! Nephi’s family had to walk away from everything and they needed to have faith. Dan recognized that and told us that meeting us was not a coincidence. We mostly just talked about what he had read and then talked about his concerns with prayer and church. Every time we would tell him the true way to do something, he would just say “yeah, I can see that. That makes sense.” The spirit was just talking right through us and we bore testimony. At the end of the lesson Dan said that he was going to cancel the appointment because he had so much to do, but he decided not to. He said “I’m glad I didn’t because I really, really needed this today. Thanks ladies.” Then we met with him 2 days later, and he had read up to 1 Nephi chapter 14. He loves the Book of Mormon! For the lesson we read 3 Nephi 18 with him and talked about why we go to church. He told us that he would come. He seemed so excited. But he didn’t come. That was a little disappointing, but maybe next time. So Dan is coming along. He’s a really cool guy and He really loves God. He wants to please Him.

Funny moment of the week (there were a lot, so I’m just going to choose one): We were tracting and this guy answered the door with a really alarmed look on his face. I thought he was going to get mad at us and yell and stuff. But he didn’t. While Sister Weight was beginning to try to teach him, I noticed that he was in his very short, short shorts, underwear. The guy kept telling us that he was saved and that he was sorry for coming out in his underwear. Sister Weight just kept on going and I just stood there awkwardly cuz, well, ya know, it was awkward. Then he said again “Thank you for coming by and I’m sorry I am in my underwear.” And Sister Weight goes “Oh no, It’s fine!!!!” Then he closed the door, we walked away and I just started laughing!!!! Sister Weight looks at me and asks me what’s so funny. I was like “That dude was just in his underwear!” She was like “He was…?” She didn’t even notice. And he said it like twice! It was so hilarious! My companion is very focused. Good for her :).

We get to meet Elder Oaks this week! I’m so excited! Our mission president has been stressing a lot lately about us becoming consecrated missionaries. And not just missionaries but consecrated people. I’m doing my best to take it to heart and “bury my weapons”. I love being a missionary! “What is a consecrated missionary? It is a missionary who is willing to lay everything on the altar of sacrifice and to hold nothing back. It is a willingness to give every ounce of energy, every conscious thought, and every drop of
passion to this work – to submit our will to God’s will whatever it may be.” -Tad R. Callister

Thank you for everything! I love you!!!!!!!!

Love, Sister Watko 🙂

Leave a Reply

