General Conference Edition

Hey there!

This week has been good! We are still trying to get in the hang of everything (teaching, finding, meeting people…etc.). We had a really good lesson with an investigator named Lena last night. Our plan was to teach her about prayer. Well, she ended up telling us about her life growing up. She was abused all through high school and has a lot of resentment towards her parents. We taught her about the Atonement and how she can find forgiveness and healing through Jesus Christ. This lady is amazing. She has gone through a lot in her life and she has chosen to be happy. She humbled me yesterday. I was kind of in a bad mood because I really wanted to e-mail, but all the libraries were closed for some training or something. I was feeling sorry for myself all day. But then when she was telling us her story and as I was looking at her life now and how happy she has chosen to be, I took a step back and counted my blessings. I have had hard times, but I can choose to let them drag me down or make me better. She is a great example to me.

General Conference was so good!!!!! I can’t wait until the Ensign comes out so I can re-read the talks. We committed a lot of our investigators, less-actives, and members to pray about a question they needed answered and promised them that it would be answered during conference. Almost all of them have reported back and said that they received an answer. I can say that I got my answer as well. I’m so grateful that we have prophets on the earth today who are called of God.

So tomorrow I will have been a missionary for one whole year!! I can’t believe it. It’s not very real. I can say honestly that I have seen myself grow. My companions and I have been talking lately about how selfishly unselfish this work is. We are focusing on other people, doing all we can to help others come to know of Jesus Christ and in the process we are the ones getting blessed and blessed and more blessed. I’m not in this work for myself but I sure do get the best reward. I am so grateful that I was able to listen to and follow the Holy Ghost, and exercise my faith to come on a mission. It’s not easy. It’s very hard. But it was never easy for My Savior and He is the reason I’m out here. I know that prayer works. I know that God is blessing my family while I do my best to have my eyes single to His glory. I make mistakes and I have a lot to improve on. But I have come to know that the Atonement is real. I can repent multiple times a day and be forgiven and strengthened to do better. I have been converted this last year. I can’t put into words how grateful I am.

Thank you for all of your prayers and support. I love you so much.
Love, Sister Watko 🙂

Leave a Reply

