D&C 18:15 – “…how great shall be your joy…”

HEY!!!!

Tyree got baptized yesterday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was awesome!!!!! The man who baptized him has been inactive for about 15 years and recently came back and received the priesthood. So it was his first baptism. He was so excited. And remember Kristal? LaRon’s girlfriend that we haven’t seen in almost a month cuz she lives in Ohio? She came to church and the baptism! It was so good to see her. We went to see Ty on Saturday night just to see how he was doing and to share our excitement with him. He wasn’t too excited… haha. He was so nervous! And at church he was still so nervous. But after the baptism and confirmation he was literally a new person. He was excited. In his own words “It feels like I went to football practice, came home and slept for 3 days, and just woke up! I’m so relaxed and energized!”. Haha. He’s so cute. And him and his dad are both doing missionary work at school and work. They are on fire and on the path to Eternal Life.
I think the coolest thing about the whole thing was how I felt. I was so happy. But I was thinking back to when I was in Grand Blanc and our investigator Brandon, who hadn’t been to church in YEARS and who never prayed, finally prayed. And it was the same happy feeling. Two completely different situations, but they both got closer to Christ and the Spirit was so strong both times.
Another miracle…..
So remember how I said that our investigator, Sister Pawlecki, will be ready soon? Apparently soon is now. We taught her on Monday night and then again on Wednesday. The lessons went really well but we were kind of bummed because it felt like she just couldn’t take in everything we were saying. She wants to know everything there is to know about the church. Well, Wednesday was a really good day!! (It flooded too, so that was fun!). And then we woke up Thursday morning and Sister Manufekai and I were both feeling a little down. We didn’t know why. Nothing was wrong, we had a great day the day before, and we were confused. Well, after studies, all of our appointments for that morning fell through. So as we were about to pray to decide what to do, we get a text from Sister Pawlecki. It said “I have something I need to talk to you about”. We were freaking out because the night before we had been really bold in our lesson and almost asked her to be baptized, but neither of us were really feeling it. Anyway, so after we read the text, we call her immediately cuz we thought she was going to drop us. Sister Manufekai and I are standing in the kitchen when Sis. Pawlecki says “I wanted to talk to you both, because I want to get baptized.”. We were just staring at each other, not saying anything. That is why we were feeling funky and why all of our appointments cancelled. Satan knew something great was about to happen. So we went straight to her house. She said that she had talked to her son (who is a member) and had been praying all night. And when she woke up, the thought just came to her that said “What are you waiting for?”. She knew that that was her answer. We committed her to be baptized on the 21st…. yes, that’s this week. But we felt that she’s ready. We just have to finish teaching her the lessons. Her hold ups: Coffee and E-cigarettes. So far, she’s been 3 and half days with out coffee and has had 2 puffs of her cigarette in the last 2 days. So she’s doing really well! Her interview with our mission president is on Wednesday. She came to church on Sunday and to the baptism. She also got a blessing to help her with the WOW. The best part about it is that her grandson who is on a mission is probably SO happy. I’m so happy for him. The difference that he’s made in his family’s life so exciting. I’m excited for him to find out that his grandma is getting baptized. We are just praying so hard that she’ll be ready for Sunday. God is in control.
I can tell that this week is going to be tough. The last week of the transfer. Satan doesn’t want us to succeed and I know he’s going to try to do everything he can to get us down. I’m relying on prayer to get me through this week. Miracles happen and I just need to doubt my doubts before I doubt my faith. As long as I follow the spirit, God will work out everything the way it’s supposed to. I would much appreciate your prayers for Sister Manufekai and I and for Sister Pawlecki.
Thanks! I love you lots! Mwah!
Love, Sister Watko 🙂

Leave a Reply

