The Power of Testimony

Hey everyone.

This week was really good! Crazy but good.

But today I felt like I just needed to say this:

Throughout time, God has called prophets. They receive revelation from Him and write it down. That’s where we get the Bible. Then Jesus Christ came to earth and established His church. He called 12 apostles and gave them the Priesthood- the power and authority to act in God’s name.
What a wonderful gift to have!
Jesus Christ performed the Atonement to save us all. And after the apostles died, the priesthood authority was gone. There were people who distorted the doctrine of Christ or made up their own teachings. Other churches were formed.
In 1820 there was a very confused boy named Joseph Smith. He wanted to join a church. He knew it was important. But which one? They all contradicted each other. But that smart boy still read the Bible. He read in James chapter 1 verse 5. If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. So that is exactly what he did. He knelt down in a grove of trees and asked God which church he should join.
This is Joseph Smith’s experience: “I saw a pillar of light, exactly over my head, above the brightness of the sun, which descended gradually until it fell upon me… When the light rested upon me, I saw two personages whose brightness and glory defy all description, standing above me in the air. One of them spake unto me, calling me by name and said ‘This is my beloved Son, Hear Him’.”

It sounds impossible and even a little crazy. But I KNOW that Joseph Smith, a fourteen year old boy, saw our Heavenly Father and Savior, Jesus Christ. They told him to not join any of the churches. Joseph Smith was called as the first prophet of this dispensation. Through him the fulness of the gospel, including the priesthood, was restored. He was led to the Book of Mormon to translate it so that we can have it and read it today. That book was written for our time and I know that it is true. Today we have the same church Jesus Christ established when He was on the earth. It is the true church. By following it’s teachings, we can live with our families and God again someday. I am so grateful for this knowledge. I know it because I did exactly what Joseph Smith did. I prayed. God gave me an answer. Prayer works.

I love the Restoration. On Tuesday we taught 7 other lessons and found 4 new investigators. And this is what we taught them. This is our unique message to the world. This is what changes lives. It has changed mine. I am so grateful to be able to teach this almost everyday and see the effect it can have in EVERYONE’S lives.

An investigator in Grand Blanc got baptized on Saturday. I wasn’t able to go, but I heard that he was very happy. What a wonderful experience to be one step closer to having eternal joy. There is nothing better!

It’s been a week full of miracles. God blesses His servants. I’m doing my best everyday to become more like My Savior.

I love you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Don’t forget to CPR- Church, Pray, and Read. 🙂

Love, Sister Watko

Leave a Reply

