Happy Birthday!!!!

I’m not a teenager anymore. I don’t know how I feel about it. My mission President called me this morning and told me I can be mature now instead of being a smart alec… I don’t know what that means. It was sweet of him to call me though. Thanks everyone else who wished me a happy birthday. This year is definitely going to be one I remember. 

 
So here’s the best birthday present I could have ever asked for. So our investigator Brandon. I think I’ve mentioned him before. He never prayed because something bad would always happen, he wouldn’t even pick up the Book of Mormon, and he would have a hard time coming to church because he always went to the bar on Saturday night. Well the last few times we have gone over to teach him, it’s been pretty chill. He doesn’t do good with people telling him what to do. So we’ve been taking things slow, but making sure he feels the Spirit. So on Friday night, we went over and as we were about to leave we asked, like we always do, if he would like to say the prayer. And he said sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And he prayed and talked to God and told Him that he loves Him! It was the sweetest prayer! And then he came to church yesterday and read a page of the Book of Mormon! Things are going really slowly with him but they are going! It’s so cool to see the change in him. And another plus: he only smoked one cigarette while we were there instead of 2 or 3. 🙂  Happy Birthday to me!! Oh and he made me cupcakes after church and we are going over tonight to eat them. He most definitely feels the Spirit. 
 
It’s the last week of the transfer. I’m freakin out already. But I’m praying really hard for me to be ok with whatever happens. It’ll happen for a reason. 
 
My favorite family moved out of the ward this week. That was sad. And our ward mission leader got released. Maybe these changes are happening so that it will be easier for me to leave. The silly thing is that I don’t even know if I will be leaving. I just need to calm down. 
 
My companion had her 1 year temple trip this week so I spent the day with another sister. Wanna hear a cool story? So we were tracting and at this one house they had a little welcome sign. And a bird was sitting on it. I went to go pet it, knowing it would fly away as I got close. But it didn’t! It let me pet him. And it flinched a little bit, but it never flew away! Then I stopped petting it, and it pooped, and flew away. Haha. But I got to pet a wild bird! 
 
This week I have been really grateful to be a missionary. There are bad parts to each day. But the good things that happen, totally overpower those bad things. I’m trying to live with no regrets and just do my very best everyday. I love being the Lord’s instrument. 
 
I know that the Church is true. 
Love, Sister Watko 🙂
Leave a Reply

