Adventures!

Hey hey!

 
So Adventures from this week:
-Milking a goat
-Saving a turtle from the middle of the road
-Riding 7 miles on a bike, uphill with the wind against me
-Seeing my companion almost get hit by a car
-Seeing an old man’s butt
-Learning how to bee keep and change a tire
-Learning how to plant spinach
 I think that’s it. Things I never thought I’d learn on a mission. 
 
Something I really did learn though that will be useful: We had zone conference this week. We learned about testimony and conversion. Although a testimony is great to have, it’s not enough. Eventually we will need to be converted. So this week we have been working on asking our investigators conversion questions to get them to act on what they know. Knowing is great but it doesn’t do much if you don’t do anything about it. I’ve seen that in my own life. 
 
We rode bikes on Tuesday. I thought I was going to die. But I didn’t. My companion on the other hand almost got hit by a car. It was the scariest thing I have ever witnessed. But everyone was ok. 
 
Milking a goat is harder than you think. It’s got like a technique to it and aiming it to get into the bowl is difficult. But I got the hang of it eventually. 
 
We have about 10 investigators. Sometimes I get frustrated and down and wonder why nobody is progressing. But then I think back to when I first got to Grand Blanc and we had zero investigators. I feel so blessed to be teaching the gospel to so many people. I love them all so much and even though they can be frustrating sometimes, I wouldn’t trade them for tracting any day :). 
 
Oh ya! So remember John and Lisa? Well we haven’t seen them in over a month. They have been so busy and we just haven’t been able to see them. So on Friday we called them again and John answered! We were worried that maybe they had heard something and they didn’t want to meet with us anymore. But he told us to come over this week! So we get to teach them on Friday. It was a miracle. 
 
Another miracle. So there is this lady who is less active. Her and her husband got baptized about 2-3 years ago. In the last few weeks her husband has been wanting to send a letter to Salt Lake to get their names off the records. She was really upset because she loves the church but he just wont let her go. She has a really strong testimony and does everything she can to keep her testimony. Well, we met with them this week because they wanted us to resolve some concerns he had. (About polygamy, of course). But as we started talking to them they told us that they were rushed into getting baptized. The elder who taught them wanted them baptized before he left so they just did it. (So infuriating). Also, in the ward they were in they were told that they weren’t allowed to be friends with non-members who weren’t investigating the church, they couldn’t have chocolate, and that there was a time limit to when he could receive the priesthood. So we told them that the best thing they can do right now is basically start over. So they agreed to have us over every week and we will start from the beginning, teaching them the lessons. This is a big milestone because the whole 15 weeks I’ve been here I have never even met the husband. And now he’s willing to listen to us. God’s timing is perfect. 
 
Well, I gotta go. I love you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂
Love, Sister Watko
Leave a Reply

