Goodbye Sister Cutler…Northville and I will miss you.

I wanted to put a little bit of Mom’s email in so that everyone would have a bit of context around Aubree’s reply.

Dear Sister Aubree,
Well… What’s the transfer news?  I know you don’t want Sis. Cutler to go but for her sake I kind of hope she gets to.
So how is the work going?  Have you been able to light a fire under those lazy ward members?
:).  It’s so hard for us non full time missionaries to feel like it is our “job”.  Which it is of course.  You asked us to tell you our missionary experiences and I’m sorry to say my world is very limited. I know this isn’t helpful to you missionaries but for me, as a mother, I call my children “small investigators”.  (I don’t know why I’m using so many quotes today :/).  I’m trying to do for my kids everything you are doing for your investigators so that they can gain their own testimonies.  But, I will keep my eyes open and look for other opportunities and then try to be brave! 🙂
Big news in the ward this week is that Brother Christensen has been called to be the Mission President in the Ecuador Quito mission. So hard to see them go but so happy for them and those lucky missionaries.  Katie is in for quite the experience isn’t she!?
Just wanted to give you a heads up on what you will be getting from Courtney this week.  She wants to send you letters but she doesn’t know what to write.  Since you both like to color, I suggested she color half a picture and send it to you to color the other half.  Dad is worried you don’t have time to color.  She’s really excited about it, and hopefully it isn’t a problem.  Jackson turned seven last week! Can you believe it?  We spent the day with them that day.  He is such a cute stinker.
Can’t think of anything else.  I love you so much.
Love,
Mom

 

Family,
So transfers…. I’m staying in Northville…. Sister Cutler isn’t. I’ll be ok… I think… I’m happy for her, but I feel like being selfish right now, so yeah. I’m glad I’m staying here though! Watching her say goodbye to everyone made me really sad and It’s going to be hard when I have to. So, mostly I’m happy 🙂
Congratulations Christensen family!!!!!!!!!! That is so exciting!!!!!!! How’s Katie doing? The Gerber’s daughter visited for Christmas (She just graduated high school, so a little older than Katie) and she LOVED having her parents be mission presidents. She said it was just the coolest experience ever. Especially because she was leaving on her mission in like 2 weeks. I’m so excited for them!!!!
So things that happened this week:
-Roger: Our eternigator. We had a super spirit filled lesson on Saturday and we asked him to be baptized (again) and his response was “most likely yes”. Dumbest answer. He has a problem with the word yes. One time I asked him if he knew the Book of Mormon was true and he sad “I have no reason to believe it’s not” and I said “You know you can say yes.” And then he said “ok, yes I do”. So anyway, he is praying about February 15 which he will hopefully commit to this week. It’s sad because Roger has been through so many missionaries, but Sister Cutler has been his longest one and he is really bummed that she’s leaving. But he still has me, so he’ll be fine :).
-Sharon and Martin: Sharon is an investigator and her husband Martin is a less active member. And he committed to quit smoking on Friday! So Us, Sharon, the bishop, and the ward mission leader all fasted on Friday for him. I’m anxious to see how he’s doing. We have been texting him twice a week to encourage him, but he never texts back. That’s not surprising though. He usually doesn’t.
-The Pan family: They are from China, here for work. They have been brainwashed and don’t believe in anything. Until now! We taught them about God and how much they are loved by him and then the dad prayed!!! After no belief in God whatsoever, He talked to God and asked if He was there! Talk about the spirit exploding in the room! It was awesome. They are friend’s of the Bauss’ so they were there and they bore testimony of knowing and praying to God. It’s amazing how small that belief seems, but how much of an impact it can have in so many people’s lives.
-Hannah: We went to a singles ward with her on Sunday. She hasn’t come to church since she was baptized so we thought it would be a good idea to go with her to check out the singles wards. Yeah, no. SOOO awkward! There was like 10 people there all hovering over her and the rest of them didn’t even acknowledge her. I don’t think that’s going to reactivate her. We’re going to try out the other one next week so prayerfully that one is better.
Those were the most eventful things that happened this week. It was a really good week. I’m super stressed about taking over Northville, but Sister Cutler is talking me through it and telling me everything I need to know, so I will be fine. I’m excited for this next transfer to do great things!
One thing I learned/relearned this week: The Lord’s work is really the Lord’s work. It is so divine and inspired. He knows what He is doing.
I gotta run. I love you all soooo much! Write me letters! The church is true!
Love, Sister Watko
P.S. I usually have time at night to do whatever, so coloring should be fine. That’s so cute!!

Leave a Reply

