Polar vortex….Brrrrrrr!

Image: Pedestrians cross a street in Detroit on Monday (© Joshua Lott/Getty Images)

Mommy! And Family!

It is captain literally freezing! We have gotten stuck in the snow twice now! I’ll send pictures later of the sisters dumping me in the snow. I’m pretty good in clothing. I just layer A LOT! I won’t get frostbite so you don’t have to worry. So momma, I was actually going to bare my testimony at church yesterday too! But church was cancelled. So I didn’t get to. And now I don’t know if I can get the courage back up to do it next week. But I’m so proud of you! I can just picture you rambling right now… ;). Just kidding, I’m sure you did great. Congratulations on your calling! Great attitude! You’ll do fantastic! Nana: no, the package wasn’t smashed. Thank You Thank You! I love those little cookie things!!!!!! I love you 🙂 Sorry girls you have to go back to school. Kids here have snow days for the next couple of days. Lucky! Everyone keeps telling us to stay inside because of the weather. Silly people, missionary work never stops!! 
So the beginning of the week started out really good! I don’t know if I ever told you this, but the Northville sisters and the Livonia sisters live together. So Sister Cutler and I live with two other sisters. Anyway, they have been having a really hard time lately and we wanted to do something to help them. So we called president and asked if we could go on exchanges. So on Wednesday, I went to Livonia with Sister Kunzler and we found them a new investigator, we went to a less actives house, and visited a member who has been struggling. It was really cool to be without our trainers for a day. (Don’t get me wrong, I love Sister Cutler with my whole heart it was just nice to have a change for a day). Sister Kunzler was in the MTC with me so we have become really good friends! It was a really really good day! I got to help her get out of a funk and we just worked super hard the rest of the day. It was awesome!
The rest of the week. Wasn’t too good. Our ward is being really frustrating. Nobody wants to change. We are trying to get them excited about doing missionary work, but nothing seems to be working. Yet anyway. I’m working on patience. The area will pick up eventually. Sisters here usually stay about 6 months, so I’ll be here for a while. Transfers are next week. Sister Cutler has been here for 7 months, so I’m thinking she’ll be gone. But ya never know! 
Something I learned this week (or relearned): You have to do things you have never done to get results you’ve never gotten. Change is good. Change is repenting. I’m doing my best to be a better missionary and to be more Christlike. I’ve almost been out for a whole 12 weeks! 
Funny story of the week: So we went to a members home yesterday and Sister Cutler was so excited because she loves this family. Side note for later: Their last name is Calder. So we go in and share a cute message with all the little kids, get them excited about being missionaries some day, and then the dad asks Sister Cutler to say the prayer before leaving. So President Gerber once told us that it is super important for us (missionaries) to say prayers at members houses because we have the power to unlock the windows of heaven. Pretty cool right? So Sister Cutler begins and she says “We are so grateful that we could come to……………….” And she forgets their name! We were there for an hour and she forgot their name! Next to me, as she is paused, the little boy is whispering “Calder! Calder!” But she couldn’t hear him, so then she just continues “……..this families home” and then everybody is just laughing now. It was sooo funny!!!! I couldn’t stop laughing for the next hour!
Well, I should get going. I love you all soooo much! Please write me! 🙂 
Love, Sister Watko 🙂
Leave a Reply

