First week in the mission field: Northville, MI

Hola mi familia! Boy am I glad I’m not speaking spanish!

Well first things first (don’t faint). I’m really weirding myself out. I haven’t felt depressed or anxious since Tuesday. I don’t know what is wrong with me. I am excited to go out and talk to people and do things I have never done before. The faith I have is incredible. Heavenly Father must really love me because I am feeling better than I have in a loooong time. Like before I could do hard things but now I can do hard things and LOVE it! It is so weird. So no need to worry (not that you were) because everything is just dandy. I still can’t even believe how this is working but it is definitely a miracle. Thank you for your prayers!

So answer time…

My companion is Sister Cutler. She is 19, 3 months older than me. She has been out for 4 months and Northville is her only area, but she loves it. She is really fun and funny. She is a wonderful missionary and has already taught me soo much. Plus she always makes me feel good. She is another answer to my prayers.

We live in an apartment with one other companionship. I live with one of the sisters in my district at the MTC, and I love her so I was really happy about that. They serve in Livonia though.

I’m eating pretty good. Mostly cereal, sandwiches, and quesadillas. There is a restraunt named Aubree’s! I haven’t eaten there yet though but I want to. It’s even spelled the same way. Pretty cool.

I’ve been wearing my coat/jacket that I got from costco. Not cold enough to wear my big ones yet. We teach a lot of people outside though so I will need them soon if we can’t find other places to meet with them.

I already love the people here! I’m also blessed because Sister Cutler and her last companion did a great job and there are investigators, progressing investigators, a ton of potentials and so pretty sold less actives and recent converts. We are never not busy. I wish I could tell you about all of them but that would take too long. One problem with a lot of them is though… well lets just say I smell like smoke 24/7. haha. Love them though! We are going to try to get 3 investigators on a baptismal date this week so wish us luck! More like pray for us.

Northville is super cute! Really nice area. They put skeletons up everywhere in downtown Northville and they a cute. I’ll try to get a couple pictures. Dad: what is Sarah’s last name? Mom: You will be getting an e-mail from a sister Bauss sometime in the next six weeks. She is a member and her family is awesome. Dad, what is your job description. There is another member in our ward who works for fidelity and I realized I couldn’t tell her what you did. I love our ward here!

Jordan, the talks you gave me have actually been suuuper helpful, so thank you!

I love you Bethany!

Michelle, your letter is on it’s way… I want you to draw me a giraffe.

Hi Ellie and Courtney! I love you guys! How are you?

So any changes in the ward? Family? How is everyone? I miss you all, but am glad I am here. I’ll send you a few pictures from the Halloween party and of my roommates. I love you! I really am doing amazing. The church is true. I love Heavenly Father. I love the Atonement because I probably wouldn’t be feeling like this if I didn’t.

Love,

Sister Watko

P.S. Sorry if I missed anything, I am running out of time. And I am really hungry. Also will you send me my work address please?

Leave a Reply

